Owen Kydd

(Alberta, Canada)

Owen Kydd

DURATIONAL PHOTOGRAPHS 

Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
September 10 to December 6, 2015

Put a camera on a tripod in front of a static subject. Take a shot. Then switch the system to video mode and record a short sequence in high definition. In terms of perception, the results are almost identical. In ontological terms, they explicitly show two conflicting ways of representing temporality. In the still photograph, a fragment of the subject’s life has been captured, corresponding to the length of the exposure (the time the shutter has been left open). In the video, time is presented in a continuous fashion. The photograph is a slice in time, the video an unfolding sequence.

As various emblematic exhibitions have demonstrated (for instance, Passages de l’image, curated by Raymond Bellour, Catherine David, and Christine van Assche for the Centre Pompidou in 1990), digital technology dissolves the boundaries between the different categories of image. Owen Kydd touches a sensitive chord with his Durational Photographs (started in 2006) – photographs that lessen the gap between the static image and kinematic lapse. Only the inclusion of very slight movements reveals the videographic nature of the images, which, furthermore, have been edited to form a continuous loop, with no beginning or end, evoking the circularity attributed to time in so many cosmologies.

Durational Photographs constitutes a subtle hybridization between minimalist film – the degree zero of cinematographic writing – and animated photography, which employs the stop-motion effect or three-frame GIF animation. In addition, given that both temporality and death have been essential components in every attempt to develop a theory of photography, the still life (nature morte) has paradoxically been made alive again.

BIO 

Owen Kydd was born in 1975 in Calgary; he lives and works in Los Angeles. He holds a master’s degree in fine arts from the University of California, Los Angeles (2012), and has exhibited his works all over the world, in solo and group exhibitions, including at the McKinney Avenue Contemporary in Dallas (2015), the Oakville Galleries (2015), the International Center of Photography in New York (2014), the FOAM Photography Museum Amsterdam (2014), the Galerie Xippas in Paris (2014), the Monte Clark Gallery in Vancouver (2013), the Nicelle Beauchene Gallery in New York (2013), and the Daegu Photo Biennale (2012). He has received many prizes and grants, such as the Toby Devan Lewis Award in 2012 and the Elaine Krown Klein Fine Arts Fellowship in 2011. He was nominated for the AIMIA–AGO Photography Prize in 2014 and the Rema Hort Mann Foundation Artist Grant in 2013. He is represented by Monte Clark Gallery in Vancouver, and Nicelle Beauchene Gallery in New York.

www.owenkydd.com
www.monteclarkgallery.com
www.nicellebeauchene.com

ARTISTS

Owen Kydd

(Alberta, Canada)

Owen Kydd

PHOTOGRAPHIES PERPÉTUELLES 

Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal
10 septembre au 6 décembre 2015

Installez un appareil photo sur un trépied devant un sujet immobile. Prenez une photo. Passez ensuite en mode vidéo et effectuez un bref enregistrement en haute résolution. Sur le plan de la perception, les résultats sont pratiquement identiques ; sur le plan ontologique, ils illustrent des manières opposées de représenter la temporalité. Dans la photographie se trouve comprimé un moment de la vie de l’objet, le temps d’exposition (le temps d’ouverture de l’obturateur permettant le passage de la lumière). Dans la vidéo, le temps s’avère un devenir continu. La photographie est une coupure dans le temps ; la vidéo, un déploiement de la durée.

Comme l’ont annoncé plusieurs expositions emblématiques (notamment Passages de l’image, conçue par Raymond Bellour, Catherine David et Christine van Assche pour le Centre Pompidou en 1990), la technologie numérique dissout les frontières entre les différentes catégories d’images. Avec ses Durational Photographs (débutées en 2006), Owen Kydd identifie précisément ces passages : un clignement de l’œil entre images fixes et plans cinématographiques. Seuls de légers mouvements permettent de révéler le caractère vidéographique des images qui, par ailleurs, ont été montées en boucle, sans début ni fin, pour évoquer la circularité temporelle présente dans tant de cosmologies.

Durational Photographs constitue une hybridation entre le cinéma minimaliste – le degré zéro de l’écriture cinématographique – et la photographie animée (par exemple, les prises de vue image par image ou les GIF animés). Et si la temporalité et la mort ont été des composantes essentielles de toute tentative d’établir une théorie de la photographie, le paradoxe ici est que les natures mortes reviennent à la vie.

BIO

Né en 1975 à Calgary, Owen Kydd vit et travaille à Los Angeles. Détenteur d’une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l’Université de la Californie à Los Angeles (2012), il a présenté ses œuvres dans le cadre d’expositions individuelles et collectives dans divers lieux de diffusion à travers le monde. Ceux-ci incluent le McKinney Avenue Contemporary à Dallas (2015) ; Oakville Galleries (2015) ; l’International Center of Photography à New York (2014) ; FOAM Photography Museum Amsterdam (2014) ; la Galerie Xippas à Paris (2014) ; la Monte Clark Gallery à Vancouver (2013) ; la Nicelle Beauchene Gallery à New York (2013) ; et la Daegu Photo Biennale (2012). Owen Kydd a reçu plusieurs prix et bourses, parmi lesquels le Toby Devan Lewis Award en 2012 et l’Elaine Krown Klein Fine Arts Fellowship en 2011. Il était en lice pour le AIMIA–AGO Photography Prize en 2014 et pour le Rema Hort Mann Foundation Artist Grant en 2013. Il est représenté par la Monte Clark Gallery à Vancouver et la Nicelle Beauchene Gallery à New York.

www.owenkydd.com
www.monteclarkgallery.com
www.nicellebeauchene.com

ARTISTES