Paul Wong

(British Columbia, Canada)

Paul Wong


Joyce Yahouda Gallery
September 10 to October 17, 2015


Quartier des spectacles de Montréal
September 3 to September 20, 2015

The post-photographic readiness to make use of overwhelming quantities of images is reminiscent of what Umberto Eco refers to as a “catalogue aesthetic,” as opposed to a “finished form aesthetic.” Today, production and distribution are no longer successive phases in the visual communication process – rather, they are merged into one simultaneous action. This creative strategy dictates the conceptual framework of Paul Wong’s works. A massive compilation of images fuels projections and video installations, based on complex classification criteria and spatio-temporal structures, governed by the “catalogue aesthetic.”

Known as a prolific multimedia artist, Paul Wong has experimented with all facets of the image. His noteworthy recent projects include Solstice (2014), a video made using the pixel motion filter tool in After Effects – similar to the time-lapse technique – that condenses the 24 hours of the longest day of the year, on a Vancouver street, into 24 minutes. Evoking surveillance-camera documentary parameters, the work captures suspicious choreographies in “Crack Alley,” an infamous drug-trafficking and consumption site. In another installation, #LLL, Looking, Listening, Looping (2014), Wong covered a wall with 40 screens, each presenting a loop of animated GIFs, ranging from selfies to abstractions, that celebrate iconic diversity. In the view of Akimblog’s Amy Fung, these images “blur the shapes and patterns of capture and existence.” Another similar project, Year of GIF (2013), presents hundreds of photos taken with a smartphone over the course of a year, creating a mosaic of virtual flipbooks over which flows a kaleidoscopic miscellany of tremendously diverse photographs.


Paul Wong was born in Prince Rupert in 1954; he lives and works in Vancouver. He has shown and produced projects throughout North America, Europe, and Asia. Since 1977, his works have been in solo and group exhibitions at the Winsor Gallery in Vancouver (2014), the Rencontres Internationales Paris-Madrid-Berlin (2012), the Richmond International Film and Media Arts Festival (2011), the Impakt Festival in the Netherlands (2009), Tate Britain (2007), and the Venice Biennale (2003). His works are in many public collections, including those of the National Gallery of Canada, the Museum of Modern Art in New York, and the Canada Council Art Bank in Ottawa. He has received many awards, such as the Best Canadian Film or Video Award in 2008, the Governor General Visual and Media Arts Award in 2005, and the Expression Trailblazer Award in 2003. He is represented by the Winsor Gallery in Vancouver.

Solstice, 2014

Year of GIF, 2013

Interview with Paul Wong

Paul Wong

(Colombie-britannique, Canada)

Paul Wong

MULTIVERSE 

Galerie Joyce Yahouda
10 septembre au 17 octobre 2015

PROJECTION DE YEAR OF GIF 

Quartier des spectacles de Montréal
3 septembre au 20 septembre 2015

La propension de la post-photographie à tirer parti de la boulimie des images active ce qu’Umberto Eco appelle l’« esthétique du catalogue » par opposition à une « esthétique de la forme achevée ». Aujourd’hui, la production et la diffusion ne constituent plus des étapes successives des processus de communication visuelle; elles se fondent en une action simultanée. Ce cadre conceptuel définit la stratégie créative de Paul Wong : la collecte massive d’images destinées à alimenter des projections et des installations vidéo selon des critères classificatoires et des structures spatio-temporelles complexes régis par cette « esthétique du catalogue ».

Artiste multimédia reconnu pour sa production prolifique, Paul Wong a exploré l’image sous toutes ses facettes. Parmi ses projets récents, mentionnons Solstice (2014), une vidéo réalisée à l’aide du filtre de déplacement des pixels du logiciel After Effects – technique similaire à l’effet d’accélération produit par une prise de vues image par image –, dans laquelle les 24 heures de la journée la plus longue de l’année dans une rue de Vancouver sont condensées en 24 minutes. Évoquant les paramètres documentaires des caméras de surveillance, l’œuvre présente le ballet suspect qui se déroule dans « Crack Alley », lieu notoire de trafic et de consommation de drogues. Dans une autre installation, #LLL, Looking, Listening, Looping (2014), Wong par- sème un mur de 40 écrans, présentant chacun une série d’images GIF animées, dont le contenu, allant des selfies aux images abstraites, célèbre la diversité iconique, et parvient à « brouiller les formes et les modèles de captation et d’existence », d’après Amy Fung d’Akimblog. Le projet Year of GIF (2013) est porté par un objectif similaire. Des centaines de photos prises avec un téléphone intelligent, pendant un an, créent une mosaïque de flip books virtuels où défile une multiplicité kaléidoscopique de photos des plus variées.

BIO

Né en 1954 à Prince Rupert, Paul Wong vit et travaille à Vancouver. Il a présenté ses œuvres et projets en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Asie. Depuis 1977, ses œuvres ont fait l’objet de plusieurs expositions individuelles et collectives, notamment à la Winsor Gallery à Vancouver (2014) ; aux Rencontres Internationales Paris-Madrid-Berlin (2012) ; au Richmond International Film and Media Arts Festival (2011) ; au Impakt Festival aux Pays-Bas (2009) ; à la Tate Britain (2007) ; et à la Biennale de Venise (2003). Ses œuvres font partie de nombreuses collections publiques, telles que celles du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, du Museum of Modern Art à New York et de la Banque d’œuvres d’art du Conseil des arts du Canada. Paul Wong a reçu plusieurs prix et bourses, dont le Best Canadian Film or Video Award en 2008, le Prix du Gouverneur Général en arts visuels et en arts médiatiques en 2005 et l’Expression Trailblazer Award en 2003. Il est représenté par la Winsor Gallery à Vancouver.

www.paulwongprojects.com
www.winsorgallery.com


Entrevue avec Paul Wong

ARTISTES